2014 Yosemite Film Festival Award Winners

The Yosemite International Film Festival is proud to announce the Winners of 2014 film and screenplay competitions.

Grand Jury Award

From the Ground Tier to a Sparrow Batch directed by Marlene Creates

Special Jury Prize

After the Storm - A Shark's Tail directed by Marco Biemann

Best Environmental Film

Ocean Connectors directed by Roosevelt Palafox

Best Narrative Feature

Wild John directed by Ron Danklefs

Best Documentary Feature

North Pond directed by Michael Brown

Best Narrative Short

Check Please directed by Geoffrey James

Best Documentary Short

Unshackled directed by Ed Breeding

Best Foreign Feature

The Orchard directed by Clive Myer

Best Foreign Short

A Bench's Tale directed by Christoph Schinko

Best California Short

Slushamed directed by Anne McGrath

Best Experimental Film

French Words directed by Heather Brown

Best Music Video

Peace Awaits directed by Francine Dennis

Best Television Pilot

Toque directed by David Pring-Mill

Best Student Short

Maybe Me directed by Robert Rabinovitz

Best Animated Film

Stress, Snowfall, and the Inner Child directed by Mike Biagiotti

Best Screenplay

Indigo directed by John Smith

Best Director

Dancing on the Edge directed by Alexander MacKenzie

Best Actor

Brady Ecklund in The Drowned Man directed by Per Krogh

Best Actress

Grace Serrano in Ashes of a Cowboy directed by Shawn Bannon


Official Finalists

Burghatory directed by Paul Navarro

Green Ninja Episode 4: Styrofoam Man directed by Babak Sarrafan

Zuzumi directed by Mengyi Xu

Antelope, Zebra & Giraffe, Oh My! directed by William Lange

All is Found directed by Kamee Abrahamian & Katelyn Partlow

The Wisdom to Survive directed by John Ankele & Ann Macksoud

Plundering Tibet directed by Michael Buckley

Tributaries directed by RC Cone

Cinder directed by Rene-Louis Cacciuttolo

Pride directed by Roshan Patel


Honorable Mentions

Hal Far Airfield directed by Chris Micallef

Stories Forlorn directed by Uri Schawrz

Carry On directed by Yatao Li

Fade Away - Music Video directed by Nikhil Korula

One Forest Day directed by Neil Lokken

The Blue Bottle directed by Brian Luce

If You Love Your Children directed by Sanjay Patel

Cerrado directed by Christian Spencer

Gaia directed by Nick Graalman & Erin Fowler

Lady B's First Winter directed by Scott Ransom


2014 Screenplay Competition Winners

Feature Script Competition

Grand Prize Winner: Kind Regards from Robby written by Peter Leder

1st Place: Destiny of Tar and Feathers written by Harold Brown

2nd Place: Michael's Ride written by Alexander MacKenzie

3rd Place: Audubon written by Michael Begg and Barry Lemoine


Short Script Contest

1st Place: Easy On The Eyes written by Sheri Davenport

2nd Place: Wifeality written by Kylie Garcelon

3rd Place: When She Went Away written by Kevin Silva


Official Finalists

Quest for Light, Adventure of the Magi written by Bryon Anderson

Stanley Ishkhanyan's Next Big Thing written by Dale Anderson

White Water Rescue written by Harold Brown

The Snakeman written by Jeffery Ryback

Casey Jones, High Friction written by Karen Lee Brown

The Bad Guy’s Sister written by John R. McMillan

The Marcoing Incident written by Jeff Travis

Black Tear written by Ivey Singer

Akatewa An Indian Summer Tale written by Jean-Marie Mazaleyrat