2017 Yosemite Film Festival Award Winners

The Yosemite International Film Festival is proud to announce the Winners of 2016 film and screenplay competitions.

Grand Jury Award

Church Forest direct by Greg Vander Veer & Peter Eliot Buntaine

Special Jury Prize

The Vervet Forest directed by Kyle Salazar

Best Environmental Film

A River's Last Chance directed by Shane Anderson

Best Narrative Feature

The 5 Year directed by Twitchy Dolphin Fix

Best Documentary Feature

Natura Urbana - the Brachen of Berlin directed by Matthew Gandy

Best Narrative Short

Fine directed by C.B. Jacobson

Best Documentary Short

Dancing with your Dreams directed by Gustavo Neves

Best California Film

ONERE directed by Kevin Pontuti

Best Foreign Feature

iFeel directed by Ludwig Ciupka

Best Foreign Short

It was nice to meet you directed by Kaicey Chae

Best Experimental Film

Scenes from the Anthropocene directed by Gregg Biermann

Best Music Video

We Live in the Lake directed by Mark Pedelty

Best Student Short

Thru-Hike directed by Tristan Oliver

Best Student Feature

230 Miles Home directed by Reign LaFreniere

Best Animated Film

Quackerz directed by Viktor Lakisov

Best Screenplay

The Immaculate Misconception directed by Michael Geoghegan

Best Director

Generation Gap directed by Chris Fiorentini

Best TV Pilot

Sunset Bar directed by John Scott

Best Actor

Michael Thayer in Ten Thousand Camels, directed by Kent Flaagan

Best Actress

Pragati Kolage in Palyadawasi, directed by Pragati Kolage

Best Supporting Actress

Danielle Kronenberg in Taste, directed by Jay Palmieri Jr.

Official Finalists

King In The Mountain directed by Dave Edwards

Divine Spell: VideoTonePoems™ Suite III directed by Payson R. Stevens

Diego Valdés directe by Diego Valdés, Jesus Vega

Poisoning Paradise directed by Keely Shaye Brosnan, Teresa Tico

The Discarded directed by Annie Costner, Carla Dauden

Immondezza directed by Mimmo Calopresti

Hands directed by Luciana Capela

Lovers directed by Raul Simao

You've Got Text directed by Matthew Moore

Rupee Run directed by Tarun Lakshminarayanan

Honorable Mentions

When We Listen directed by Amr M. Moustafa

Illusion directed by Jason Zhao

In Undertow directed by Joe Garrity

Rise - Fall directed by Clark Peacock

Loggerhead Sea Turtle directed by Cynthia Neal

What Matters directed by Alex Palmer

Wolf directed by Ece Soydam

Belo Monte: After the Flood directed by Todd Southgate

Adventures of the American Pika directed by Jere Folgert

40 Winters directed by Simon Donato, Drew Goldsack

2017 Screenplay Competition Winners

Feature Script Competition

1st Place Table For Four written by Jim Norman

2nc Place Mad Dash written by William Leonard

3rd Place The Deep Voice of the Universe written by Akin Tekin

Short Script Contest

1st Place Homesick written by Dustin Lester

2nc Place First Date, Third Date written by Mac McStravick

3rd Place A Chippy Off The Old Block written by Kelly Jean Karam

Television Writing Contest

1st Place Psi-Com 5 written by Ed Vela

2nc Place The Locker Room written by Pat Battistini

3rd Place Iron Border - "Family Secret" written by Larry Thomas

Official Finalists

Pickled Red Herring ("Brooklyn Deli Pilot Episode") written by Jim Norman

Merry Tex-Mas written by James Christopher

Devil's Valley Justice written by Harold L. Brown

Beasts Undiscovered written by Catherine Dale, Jeremy Dehn

The Miskids written by Wendy J.N. Lee

Paradise Valley written by Steven M. Hirohama